National Advisory Council

National Advisory Council is made up of consumer leaders and 51% community-level advocates as well as policy advocates, researchers and national experts. The purpose of the NAC is to provide vision and hands-on guidance to the National Program office, its partners and grantee community organizations throughout the lifetime of the CSHE program.

The Council will support the National Program Office in the following ways:

  1. Serve as an interactive, guiding force for the program

  2. Review information on potential grantees and make recommendations for site selection*; and

  3. Review progress of the program and make recommendations for course corrections.

*Participation in the NAC does not prevent the member’s organization from applying for a grant. Should the organization apply, the NAC member will be recused from discussion and decision making on the organization’s application.


Alexa Rodriguez

Community Member

Atum Azzahir

Cultural Wellness Center

Berneta Haynes

Georgia Watch

Brian Johns

Virginia Organizing

Cindy McMillan

MAHEC Doulas

D’Anna Holmes


Dennis Heaphy

Disability Policy Consortium

Felipe Tendick-Matesanz

Vertical Strategies

Gail Graham

Community Member

Jamila Michener


Joe Sammen

Center for Health Progress

Marianne Chung

Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum

Kischa Pena

Community Member

Linda Blount

Black Women’s Health Imperative

Maggie Adams

MAHEC doulas

Nikkita Smart

MAHEC Doulas

Rick Gilfillan


Shelley Means

Native Organizing

Steven Lopez


Tekisha Everette

Health Equity Solutions

Wakina Norris

MAHEC Doulas

Yorelys Rivera

Iniciativa Comunitarias, Inc.